Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Ms. Pac-Man Make 2022 Video Game Hall of Fame – News

Strong also induces Dance Dance Revolution, Sida Meier Civilization to the Hall of Fame

The Strong – the self-described “National Game Museum” in Rochester, New York – announced recipients for 2022 on Friday at its Video Game Hall of Fame. Received: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time (1998), Mrs. Pac-Man (1982), Dance Dance Revolution (1998), i The civilization of Sid Meier (1991).

The larger field of 12 finalists also included: Assassin’s Creed, Candy Crush Saga, Minesweeper, NBA Jam, PaRappa the Rapper, Resident Evil, Rogueand Words with friends.

In 2021, The Strong introduced: Crossbreeding animals (2001), Microsoft Flight simulator (1982), StarCraft (1998), i Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego? (1985).

The Strong launched the World Video Game Hall of Fame in 2015. The first class of indoor games is Pong (1972), Pac Man (1980), Tetris (1984), Super Mario Bros. (1985), Doom (1993), i World of Warcraft (2004).

In 2016, The Strong was introduced The legend of Zelda (1986), Sonic the Hedgehog (1991), Space Invaders (1978), Grand Theft Auto III (2001), Oregon trail (1971), i The Sims (2000).

In 2017, the recipients included: Donkey Kong (1981), Halo: Combat Evolved (2001), Pokémon red and Green (1996), i Street Fighter II (1991).

In 2018, the recipients included: Space war! (1962), John Madden Football (1990), Tomb Raider (1996), i Final Fantasy VII (1997).

In 2019, among the recipients were: A colossal cave adventure (1976) Microsoft Windows Solitaire (1990), Mortal Kombat (1992), i Super Mario Kart (1992).

In 2020, the strong nominated 12 candidates, among whom they were accepted Decorated with jewels (2001), Centipede (1981), The king’s quest (1980), i Minecraft (2011).

The museum describes the selection process:

Anyone can nominate a game in the World Video Game Hall of Fame. Final selections are made on the advice of journalists, scientists and other individuals familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.

The public may vote on any of the candidates, with the public acting jointly as one member of the polling station committee.

The Museum International Center for the History of Electronic Games is hosting a permanent exhibition of Hall of Fame winners in its eGameRevolution exhibition. The museum also houses the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the Woodbury School and the American Journal of Play.

Sources: The Strong’s website (link 2), Eurogamer (Ed Nightingale)

Leave a Comment