New members of the National Academy of Sciences

Nathan Collins, Mark Golden, Taylor Kubota, Emily Moskal and Danielle Torrent Tucker

Eight researchers from Stanford University are among the 120 newly elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. Scientists at NAS are chosen by their colleagues.

Image Credit: Courtesy of the National Academy of Sciences

New members from Stanford are Greg Beroza, Wayne Loel, Professor of Earth Science and Professor of Geophysics at the School of Earth Science, Energy and Environment; Yi Cui, director of the Precourt Institute of Energy, and professor of the founders of Fortinet, and professor of materials science and engineering; Amir Dembo, Marjorie Mhoon Fair Professor of Quantitative Sciences and Professor of Mathematics and Statistics at the Faculty of Humanities and Sciences; Lance Dixon, Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; Matthew Gentzkow, Landau Professor of Technology and Economics at the Faculty of Humanities and Sciences and Senior Fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR); Leonidas Guibas, Paul Pigott Professor of Engineering and Professor of Informatics; Guido Imbens, Professor of Applied Econometrics at Stanford Graduate School of Business, Professor of Economics at the Faculty of Humanities and Sciences and Senior Fellow at SIEPR; and Mark Kasevich, Professor of Physics and Applied Physics at the Faculty of Humanities and Sciences.

Grega Beroze the research investigates the source processes for shallow earthquakes, medium depth earthquakes, induced earthquakes and slow earthquakes. He works to improve earthquake monitoring by applying data mining and machine learning techniques and develops methods for predicting the strength of earthquakes in earthquakes using the seismic field of the environment. His recent research included detecting millions of imperceptibly small earthquakes using artificial intelligence in a variety of tectonic environments, developing protocols to manage the risks of earthquakes caused by human activity, and developing the use of optical networks to study earthquakes.

Yi Cui studies nanoscience to enable clean energy and sustainability technologies. It is known for its significant contribution to the invention of revolutionary battery technologies for electric transport and storage of renewable energy. It also makes extensive contributions to solar energy conversion, carbon-free hydrogen production, textile cooling and heating, water and air filtration, and cryogenic electron microscopy for materials science.

Amira Demba research is focused on probability theory and stochastic processes, information theory, and large deviation theory. His work has applications in communications, control systems, and biomolecular sequence analysis. Dembo is the co-author of the textbook Techniques and applications of large deviations.

Lance Dixon works on the development of methods for high-precision calculations in quantum chromodynamics, part of the Standard Model of Elementary Particle Physics dealing with quarks and their interactions. Such calculations are essential for the interpretation of experimental particle physics data from the Large Hadron Collider at CERN. He applied related methods to the study of other quantum theories, including the one known as supergravity.

Matthew Gentzkow studies applied microeconomics, empirical industrial organization, and political economy with a focus on media, politics, and health. Recently, Gentzkow published studies on political polarization, the use of social media and misinformation, differences in health care, and consumer choice. Some of his most notable works are media bias – including whether there is a demand for them.

Leonidas Guibas works on algorithms for detecting, modeling, reasoning, rendering and acting on the physical world. His interests include geometric and topological data analysis, machine learning and learning architectures for geometric data, 3D computer vision and robotics, geometric modeling and synthesis of 3D content, geometric algorithms, and natural language and emotional impact related to form and form.

Guido Imbens He is best known for his work in econometrics, a method of studying economics using statistics. His research focuses on the development of methods for drawing causal conclusions in observational studies, using matching, instrumental variables, and regression discontinuity designs. In 2021, Imbens shared the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in memory of Alfred Nobel with David Card and Joshua Angrist “for their methodological contribution to the analysis of cause-and-effect relationships”.

Mark Kasevich is an experimental physicist whose work provides information on the development of navigation and high accuracy sensors. His current research interests include quantum sensations of rotation and acceleration based on cold atoms (also known as quantum metrology), precise general relativity tests, quantum effects of many bodies in Bose-condensed vapors, ultra-fast laser-induced phenomena, and advanced microscopic techniques.

The Academy is a private, non-profit institution established in 1863 to advise the nation on issues related to science and technology. Scientists are selected in recognition of their outstanding contribution to research. In this year’s elections, the total number of active members of the academy is 2,512.

Leave a Comment