2011 BEYA Scientist of the Year is reappointed a member of the National Science Committee – American Black Engineer

President Biden reappointed Dr. sc. Victor R. McCrary as a member of the National Science Committee, the governing body of the National Science Foundation. Distinguished Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) and winner of numerous awards at the BEYA STEM Conference, Dr. McCrary is among the key nominations announced by the White House last week.

Click here!

In the archive photo, McCrary poses with the award winner and podium leader at the annual Black Engineer of the Year Awards.

According to the National Science Committee, all twenty-five board members have a six-year term, and one-third of the board is appointed every two years. McCrary was first nominated to the 2016 National Science Committee by President Barack Obama.

As one of the newest board members in 2017, McCrary proposed a company-wide initiative to support the “blue collar STEM” workforce, setting out his rationale in a presentation during a meeting of the National Science and Engineering Policy Committee. Blue collars are individuals without four-year or advanced degrees in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).

In September 2018, McCrary wore two hats as vice president of research at Morgan State University and a member of the National Science Committee when he participated in the first congressional Black Caucus Panel on Blue Collar STEM.

Last spring, wearing two hats as elected NSB vice president and vice president of research and graduate programs / professor of chemistry at Columbia University, McCrary led efforts to facilitate discussions in a series of committees on the successes of institutions serving minorities in preparing STEM talent. The panel discussion is part of the NSB’s efforts to raise awareness of strategies to develop domestic STEM talent, especially among minority groups.

McCrary is committed to the success of colored people in STEM and represents the views of scientific and engineering leaders in institutions that serve minorities. He is a former president of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE) and a member of the American Chemical Society.

As First Vice President of Research and Economic Development at Morgan State University, he has played a key role in developing research strategy at Morgan State, expanding the program through engagement with federal and state agencies ($ 32 million in 2016), increasing the university’s intellectual capacity. the real estate portfolio and positioning Morgan State as the public urban research university of Maryland.

McCrary also previously served as executive director of science and technology at the Johns Hopkins University Laboratory for Applied Physics. He has directed over $ 60 million in investments in basic and applied research projects focused on national security and space applications. He has written over sixty technical papers and co-authored two books in his career at AT&T Bell Laboratories and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

He has also served on a number of committees, including the Intelligence Science and Technology Expert Group of the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine, the Citadel Electrical and Computer Engineering Advisory Board and the Penn Applied Research Laboratory Advisory Board. State. He has served on the subcommittee for the U.S. Air Force Institute of Technology, on the board of directors of the Maryland Innovation Initiative Maryland Technology Development Corporation, and on the Central National Advisory Board of PubMed for the National Institutes of Health.

McCrary has received several accolades and awards during his career, including the Alumni Award for Excellence in Research from the Catholic University of America and the Distinguished Alumni Award from Howard University, both major institutions in his hometown of Washington DC

In 1990, the annual BEYA STEM conference awarded McCrary one of his first career awards as the most promising scientist of the year. Two decades later, at the same conference hosted by the Career Communications Group (CCG), he was named Scientist of the Year. In 2005, it was published as one of the 50 best minorities in science by the CCG publication. Other awards he has received include the 2000 U.S. Department of Commerce Gold Medal and the 2002 NOBCChE Percy Julian Award.

Click here!

Leave a Comment